May 20, 2024
Image default

EU Council agrees on sanctions to exclude some Russian banks from SWIFT system

Published by
Reuters UK

PARIS (Reuters) – The Council of the European Union voted on Tuesday on sanctions to exclude some Russian banks from the SWIFT system, according to the official Twitter account of the French EU Council Presidency. A meeting of ambassadors from the bloc’s member countries also resulted in a vote to ban the broadcasting of Russian media outlets Sputnik and RT in the European Union, according to a series of tweets from the official account. The European Union, the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Canada and Britain agreed on Saturday to ensure that selected Russian banks are removed from SW…

Read More

Related posts

Why the U.S. is targeting Putin’s daughters Katerina and Maria


Russia drives to cut off key towns in Ukraine’s east


Ukraine’s Zelenskiy warns of new iron curtain falling as Russian troops advance


Ukraine reports Russian attacks from multiple directions


Both sides in Russia-Ukraine conflict talk of compromise, Putin says operation “going to plan”


Prince Andrew settles lawsuit by sex abuse accuser Virginia Giuffre


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.